1. Enkelriktat Krig
  2. Ångesten är Total
  3. Tårar Hjälper Föga
  4. Självmord på Repeat
  5. Katarsis
  6. Roulettehjärta
  7. Raderad
  8. Terrorbalansen
  9. Afgrundssjäl
  10. Vi Lever, Vi Drabbas, Vi Dör
  11. Söndersupen
  12. Maktens Murar Rasar
  13. Hjärtslag och Djupa Andetag
  14. Käpprätt åt Helvete
AFGRUND - Svarta Dagar

GENRE: Grindcore
LABEL: Lifestage Productions
YEAR: July 6th, 2007

RATING: 7/10
PROVIDED BY: Lifestage Productions

Afgrund impressed me a lot on their split CD with Relevant Few so I was looking forward to their debut Svarta Dagar. The music pretty much continues where the trio left off with the split CD, but it's also apparent that Afgrund have improved and developed their sound a little more since then.

The Nasum references seem less noticeable now, but I still hear some similarities now and then. The music is covering a wide spectrum as it's not just fixed on fast parts, but also allows slower and moodier parts into the soundscape. This provides the needed contrast for the music to stay interesting. The band includes their rendition of the Skitsystem track "Maktens Murar Rasar" and that also adds to the diversity on Svarta Dagar.

It's clear that Afgrund is not trying to invent grindcore all over again. The band more or less sticks to all the basics of the genre and don't at any point deviate from their set path, but what they do, they do well. Just like on the split CD Afgrund sings in Swedish. This works as an asset as it to a minor extend create a distance to most other bands in this genre.

The band and drummer Panu Posti have produced the effort themselves. The result is a sound that is both dirty and meaty. This benefit the music as it sounds organic and alive. Svarta Dagar is nothing revolutionary, but it's a powerful statement that promise well for what next to come from the Swedes.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t