1. He is Risen [Apocalypse Part 1]
  2. Our Choices, Our World
  3. Just Press That Red Button and Turn the Fukk Off
  4. The Lie of the Land
  5. The Hives Fell Silent
  6. Yoked, Choked and Quarterpounded
  7. The End of the Line
  8. Open Your Eyes For He is Here
  9. The End of Seasons
  10. The Betrayal of Freedom
  11. No Light at the End of the Tunnel [The Fall]
AFTER THE LAST SKY - There's No Light at the End of the Tunnel

GENRE: Grindcore
COUNTRY: England
LABEL: Power It Up Records
YEAR: 2011

RATING: 5/10
PROVIDED BY: Power It Up Records

The English five-piece After The Last Sky blend doom and sludge with black metal fuelled grindcore. Does that make an interesting mixture? I'd say yes and no. The problem on There's No Light at the End of the Tunnel is above all the grindcore parts. I love grindcore, but here it tends to be a little too distorted and noisy. That makes the music seem like a barrier of noise and it does get annoying after a while.

On the opposite I do like the contrast there is between the grindcore fuelled parts and the slower doom-laden inputs. It's a bit ambivalent, I know. However the music actually work the best in the slower and less grindcore inspired parts, like on "The Betrayal of Freedom". It's in the moderate and slow parts that the catchy riffs are.

I guess the production is partially to blame for the noisy result. Often the guitars seem to drown beneath the vocals and drums, and that is a big part of the problem. I think After The Last Sky does have many good ideas, but a lot of it seems to disappear in the sound. There's No Light at the End of the Tunnel is overall a mediocre effort. It has its moments, but definitely also its less thrilling parts.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t