1. Disconnected
  2. Jealousy
  3. City
  4. Another
  5. Not True
  6. War
  7. Heartbeat
  8. Preachers Pray
  9. Sequenzia Dellamorte
  10. You Have the Right to Remain Violent
  11. Lost Skull
  12. Nightmare
  13. Paganini Meets Barbapapex
  14. Empty Room
  15. Orange Pills
  16. Black Planet
ANTIGAMA - Warning

GENRE: Grindcore
LABEL: Relapse Records
YEAR: March 2nd, 2009

RATING: 7/10
PROVIDED BY: Relapse Records

The Polish band Antigama has not exactly made a habit out of doing the same thing twice. On Warning it's not any different. The music is agitated grindcore with lots of spastic inputs and some slow and groovy parts.

The jump from Resonance to Warning may not be as big as on some of the bands earlier efforts, but it feels fresh. On the whole the band appears to have matured. The Poles continue to experiment and try different things. The song-writing is interesting and the band come up with some dissonant things on almost every song.

The awry approach is also what makes songs like "Jealousy", "Heartbeat", "You Have the Right to Remain Violent" and "Empty Room" good. Antigama constantly vary the pace and direction of the music. It could easily have become a clutter, but the four-piece is able to avoid this. Antigama toys with lots of electronics on "Sequenzia Dellamorte", "Paganini Meets Barbaplex" and "Black Planet" - these tracks are peculiar, but in a good way and the three contribute to the overall ambience on Warning.

The music of Antigama is atypical and Warning shows that the Poles are determined not be a stereotype grindcore band. If you like your music to be anything but mainstream then Warning may be what you need.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t