BAALPHEGOR - Post Earthquake Age
Released: August 14th, 2006 | Label: Fastbeast | Rating: 7/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Fastbeast

01. Manipuled Nerves Impulses
02. Humtec Sphere
03. Ansphina
04. The New Adoreds
05. Filter of Lies
06. Moments of the Creation
07. New Coming are Slave
08. Source of Energy
09. Post Earthquake Age

The Spanish deathers Baalphegor have two CD's in their luggage prior to Post Earthquake Age and this can clearly be heard. The music is technical death metal with some references to Cynic, Necrophagist, Decapitated and Cryptopsy. Blend these four bands and you have a pretty accurate idea of how Baalphegor sound.

The music is fairly versatile. It vary from slow Cynic type of escapades in "Humtec Sphere" to Cryptopsy-like brutality in "Ansphina", but most of the time the band rely more on the faster and brutal fundamentals than on the slower and awkward things. Perhaps a shame, but it's all done in a controlled and balanced way. Still it doesn't hurt when a bit of programming or a lead pop up now and then. The music is packed with tempo changes, hooks and plain odd ideas. It quickly becomes clear that diversity is a keyword for the Spaniards.

The whole thing was produced, mixed and mastered guitarist David Fernandez. This has resulted in a fat and powerful production. Musically there's hardly anything here that hasn't already been done one way or the other, but Baalphegor are able to give the music their touch and that is what it comes down to in the end. If you like your death metal technical then Post Earthquake Age is a safe buy.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t