BLOOD RED THRONE - Altered Genesis
Released: February 21st, 2005 | Label: Earache | Rating: 7/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Death to Birth
02. Incarnadine Mangler
03. Tortured Soul Appearance
04. Eye-Licker
05. Mephitication
06. Arterial Lust
07. Flesh to Destroy
08. Ripsaw Resentment
09. Altered Genesis
10. Smite
11. State of Darkness
12. Deliberate Carnage

I'm not that familiar with any Blood Red Throne material prior to the new album Altered Genesis. Somehow Tchort and Co. has never managed to capture my attention fully until now. Altered Genesis is a brutal slap in the face with its ferocious US inspired death metal. The songs are intense and fairly memorable but without ever becoming overwhelming. The music is very bass-driven and has that chunky feel which adds a lot of depth to the soundscape as do the deep and guttural growls with their destructive and murderous structures. The guitars are thick, juicy and paint a disturbing and bloody trail on the canvas for the drums to follow. Altered Genesis is a barrage of savagery and relentless bloodlust and yet it does at times sound smooth and innocent.

Occasionally the album seems to run a bit too much on automatic but it is quickly aided by songs such as "Arterial Lust" [did anyone mention Metallica's "The Thing That Should Not Be", just listen to the last 20 seconds of the song and you'll know what I mean], the fast and bass-driven "Ripsaw Resentment" not to mention the titletrack "Altered Genesis". The production is very clear, yet with a lot of punch so the music doesn't come across as thin despite of its clarity. Altered Genesis is a decent release and most of the material on it is worthwhile. Sure it's all more or less been heard before and Blood Red Throne doesn't contribute with anything new but Altered Genesis still finds itself in the better end of scale.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t