BLOODSHED - March of the Undead
Released: 2005 | Label: Snakebite | Rating: 5/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Snakebite

01. March of the Undead
02. All Shall Suffer
03. Terror From the Graves
04. Embraced by the Macabre
05. Insane and Blood-Splattered
06. Dahmer in Mind
07. Maggots Grinding Maggots
08. Gorging on Blood and Secretions
09. Glory of the March

At first I mistook Bloodshed for the Swedes by the same name, but the Frenchmen doesn't musically have anything in common with them besides the bandname.

The music is typical and quite standard-like death metal with a few references to Deicide, Cannibal Corpse and others. There's nothing wrong with that as the band doesn't come of as a rip-off, but still March of the Undead sound a little too much like so much else. A track like "Embraced by the Macabre" reminds me of Iniquity and "Insane and Blood-splattered" brings to mind Diabolic. None of this makes the music less good, but it doesn't leave much room for a sense of identity either. The songs are quite varied and things are coloured further with a few instrumental tracks.

Bloodshed doesn't try any new tricks. It's all been heard before, but nevertheless March of the Undead is a fairly good effort, but nothing more, nothing less. The all-consuming death metal fan will most likely appreciate March of the Undead, but if you demand more than the usual thing then this is not the place to look.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t