Released: March 27th, 2006 | Label: Metal Blade | Rating: 6/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. The Time to Kill is Now
02. Make Them Suffer
03. Murder Worship
04. Necrosadistic Warning
05. Five Nails Through the Neck
06. Purification by Fire
07. Death Walking Terror
08. Barbaric Bludgeonings
09. The Discipline of Revenge
10. Brain Removal Device
11. Maniacal
12. Submerged in Boiling Flesh
13. Infinite Misery

I don't recall having been disappointed with any Cannibal Corpse album to date, and I'm not really sure I'm this time either. Sure the band has become predictable since Gallery of Suicide or even earlier, but there was something of a joker this time in how the band would handle the departure of guitarist Jack Owen and the switch of producer.

The result clearly speaks for itself. The music still sounds very much like Cannibal Corpse, whether it is musically or production wise. There are no surprises here at all, and this is what bothers me a bit, as things begin to get too foreseeable, but then again it is what I've come to expect during the last couple of albums, though The Wretched Spawn was apparently a onetime exception, and it all begins to get boring. The cannibals eat their way through 13 tracks in roughly 42 minutes, but the music never feels that intense or for that matter interesting. Besides "Death Walking Terror" and the instrumental closer "Infinite Misery", the songs tend to sound the same.

I won't go as far to say I'm disappointed with Kill because the album is what I initially thought it would be, a generic death metal release that relies heavily on the cannibals later day efforts. Credit due where credit is due, and all being said Kill is still an alright album, but it's not one of those albums that just beg to be played over and over. It will eventually find its way to the CD-player, but it will also as quickly find its way back among the other discs in the rack.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t