Released: June 14th, 2004 | Label: Metal Blade | Rating: 3/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Scatology [intro]
02. Humanure
03. Reduced to Paste
04. Bukkake Tsunami
05. Cloacula: The Anthropophagic Copromantik
06. Chummified
07. Applied Human Defragmentation
08. The Earthling
09. Polyps
10. Lips & Assholes
11. Men Before Swine [outro]

This is pretty much my first encounter with US death metallers Cattle Decapitation and I honestly cannot say that they impress me a whole lot. Off course I've heard lots of great things about this band so I was excited to hear their stuff and I seriously wanted to like their music but somehow I'm unable to spot all those great things. Even after multiply rotations it didn't really seem to grow. Sure their music has its highlights but they are few and far between. And as a result of this the music often just sounds very mediocre and downright boring.

None of the material really seems to stick out with the exception of "Chummified" and "Polyps". The band plays what perhaps is best described as being US death metal with a slightly chaotic approach which unfortunately doesn't comes across as being very appealing. A positive thing in between all the negativity is the lyrics which is pretty entertaining and is source for a good laugh or two but besides that there's really nothing to laugh at here.

Old timer Bill Metoyer has produced Humanure alongside with the band themselves and the result is a clean but somewhat thin production which really deprive the music of a lot of its brutality and fierceness. But what really hits the nail on the head is the last song [or whatever you would call it] "Men Before Swine". I seriously hate when a band pulls a stunt like this in order to get the CD to clock a bit longer. "Men Before Swine" is nearly ten minutes of plain noise and a bunch of pigs screaming. A stupid thing like this really pulls the score in a negative direction.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t