CATTLE DECAPITATION - Karma. Bloody. Karma
Released: July 7th, 2006 | Label: Metal Blade | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Intro
02. Unintelligent Design
03. Succes is... [Hanging by the Neck]
04. One Thousand Times Decapitation
05. The Carcass Derrick
06. Total Gore
07. Bereavement
08. Suspended in Coprolite
09. Alone at the Landfill
10. Karma. Bloody. Karma
11. The New Dawn
12. Of Human Pride and Flatulence

I was not very fond of Cattle Decapitation's previous release Humanure, and I felt the same about Karma. Bloody. Karma to begin with, but it's a grower. The San Diego vegan grinders have taken yet another slight turn in a positive direction. The music is far more diverse, and the band incorporates things from various styles.

The music is still death metal with a bit of grind, but also inspiration from black metal, and the more chaotic and noisy styles that many Relapse bands perform appear to have played a part. The band is more experimental than ever before. In between all the savagery and outspoken frenzy, Cattle Decapitation also throw in some melody a few places and add some moodier parts here and there, like in "Suspended in Coprolite", "Alone in the Landfill" and "Of Human Pride and Flatulence". It provides a much needed contrast and keeps the music interesting.

This time the band has teamed up with producer Billy Anderson. The result is a sound that allows the listener to spot all the little details, and the music still has the power it needs to be brutal. Karma. Bloody. Karma is a huge step up and a fresh experience compared to the boring Humanure. This time I'll be looking forward to the next Cattle Decapitation effort.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t