Released: August 28th, 2005 | Label: Earache | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Forward Through the Copper Sun
02. Zero Comfort Margin
03. No Tears Fall Through Hollow Eye Sockets
04. Chemical Goat
05. Whimper
06. Android: 120 Ampere Opiate
07. Host[age]
08. Bohemian Grave
09. The System as the Master Deceiver
10. Born on a Bomb Shell
11. Strip Naked for the Killer
12. A Homage to Tombstone Granite
13. Footprints in Fire
14. Playdumb
15. For Black Eyes Only a.k.a. Depopulate: Tears of Illuminati

The name Circle of Dead Children have, since their formation, become a synonym with frantic grindcore, and the band doesn't disappoint on their new EP, Zero Comfort Margin. The music mostly blasts ahead in a grotesque pace, but the band shows enough self-control to lower the tempo on a regular basis. This makes Zero Comfort Margin an enjoyable effort to listen too, as it doesn't appear as a same-sounding and noisy effort unlike so many other grindcore releases.

Moreover there are some samples here and there to set the mood and provide further variation to the music.

Zero Comfort Margin thus promises well for the next Circle of Dead Children full-length. When that one will see the day, I'm not sure, but Zero Comfort Margin should do in the meanwhile while we wait for the next one.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t