Released: 2006 | Label: No Escape | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: No Escape

01. Ostentation of the Damned
02. Your Casket Awaits
03. Hail Stone Death
04. Bend Over Bitch
05. Radio Tschernobyl
06. Reign in Thongs
07. The Sin Collector
08. Camel Fuckers

09. Common
10. Out of Focus
11. Caged in Bloodred Sin
12. All Dead
13. Hardlines
14. Regain in Disbelief
15. Worse Case Scenario

Two of Holland's premier goregrind/grindcore bands have teamed up on this split CD and the result is a 30 minute trip in subsonic terror.

Cliteater is brutal goregrind with all that belongs from repulsive, yet compelling grooves to deep gurgling growls and crazy hyperblast drumming. The songs are mostly immensely fast and grotesquely heavy, but the band understands to vary things enough so it doesn't become a monotone blur of downtuned guitars and machinegun drumming. A great asset is definitely the slower groove parts in for instance "Radio Tschernobyl" and "Reign in Thongs". Particular the later have a very memorable feel to it. Cliteater is certainly a band well worth looking closer into.

Suppository's style is more traditional grindcore in the vein of Napalm Death and Nasum. The music is of course fast with the mandatory blastbeat outbursts and just like their countrymen in Cliteater Suppository also knows how to maintain a certain amount of diversity. Most of the songs are quite good, particular "All Dead" which reminds me a lot of Napalm Death around Utopia Banished. But unlike Cliteater Suppository keep a more steady and predicable beat. The band doesn't hold back on the samples and that do become a little annoying after a while, but it doesn't have too much of an impact on the music.

If you're a fan of any of the two bands then this split CD is unavoidable. And if you've yet to hear any of the two then this is a great opportunity to check out some of the best grindcore Holland has to offer.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t