CORPUS MORTALE - A New Species of Deviant
Released: July 28th, 2008 | Label: Neurotic | Rating: 6/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Neurotic

01. Embrace to Wake the Dead
02. Dehumanized
03. Postmortem Rape
04. Scorched
05. Cold Earth
06. Erosion of the Flesh
07. Devoid in Compassion
08. Sustained Depressed Fractures
09. Descent into the Maelstrom
10. Shallow Graves

After much delay Corpus Mortale are ready with their new effort A New Species of Deviant. It’s not exactly an effort that burst of surprises, but the Danes don’t disappoint either. The music is chunky and groovy mid-tempo orientated death metal. The music often bears quite a few resemblances with long defunct death metal band Iniquity around their Five Across the Eyes album. That is perhaps not that peculiar as both vocalist/bassist Martin Rosendahl and guitarist Brian Eriksen have a history in that band. The music is diverse and the band is good at coming up with some meaty and muscular rhythms. The quartet builds on many of the same structures as Iniquity, but Corpus Mortale is able to make it a little different overall.

The songs do at times sound relatively simple, but don’t get fooled by this as there music often has quite a technical touch. As a whole Corpus Mortale is good at varying the music, but there are places like on “Scorched” where the slower parts tend to drag out too long and the band do actually also sound the best when they gear up a step or two like on “Dehumanized”, “Descent into the Maelstrom” and “Shallow Graves”. The production is dry and beefy. It goes well with the feel of the music, but doesn’t provide the album with a very compact sound. Although the music is anything but inventive, the band seems to have found their place in the death metal genre. A New Species of Deviant is nothing atypical, but for fans of groovy death metal it’s a safe buy.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t