1. To Live in Gloom of the Beyond
  2. At War with Two Worlds
  3. Birth of Faceless Killer
  4. Putrid Stench of Past
  5. Undead in the Darkness
  6. Cult
  7. Prophecy
  8. Name Written with Blood
  9. Face to Face to Destiny

GENRE: Death metal
COUNTRY: Czech Republic
LABEL: Brutal Bands
YEAR: June 25th, 2010

RATING: 8/10
PROVIDED BY: Destroying Divinity

Dark Future is the third CD by the Czech band Destroying Divinity. The music is death metal inspired by Morbid Angel, Immolation among others.

The clues to Morbid Angel are clear, but I don't think that is much of an issue. Sure the band doesn't do anything unusual in terms of the music itself, but in spite of that the Czechs are able to add a bit of personality to the songs. The music overall has a murk and ambiguous feel to it. That adds greatly to the songs and is a big part of what makes Dark Future exciting.

The riffs are thick and catchy. There are lots of interesting things going on in the music. I like that there is a solo in most of the songs. The pace of the music is mostly moderate. The songs often centre on slow or middle paced parts. It works well, not least because the band does gear up a notch or two when needed. In spite of the moderate pace the music has a strong and dense feel to it.

To a degree the vocals makes me think of Ross Dolan of Immolation. The vocals are low end, but understandable. I think it fit the music just right.

The production is thick and meaty. It fits the dense and murky feel that the music has. On the whole Dark Future is a CD that has what it takes to be interesting. If you like death metal in the vein of Morbid Angel or Immolation, then you'll love Dark Future.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t