FLAYING - Commandments - Violated
Released: June 2nd, 2006 | Label: Epidemie | Rating: 5/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Epidemie

01. No Life For You
02. Fallen Ones
03. Sacramental Masturbation
04. Flies "Myxu"
05. Devouring Reality
06. Revenge From an Asylum
07. Butchers Family
08. Maniacal Depressive Psychosis
09. Injection
10. 45 Seconds

Latvian death metal is something I rarely get to hear, actually this may very well be the first time. Flaying is a relatively new band, but they've already gotten themselves a deal with Czech Epidemie Records. The music is heavily inspired by Suffocation, Cannibal Corpse as well as Dying Fetus. Not the worst band to be influenced by and the references does also seem clear, but Flaying do manage to add a bit of their own. This being said the music is still rather standardized death metal cut after all the well known recipes.

Not that there's anything wrong in this, but it takes a little more nowadays with the millions of bands that are out there. Flaying are good at what they do and they know how keep things fairly varied. The band is also quite fond of samples, but this does pull in the wrong direction because they don't add anything to the music other than being a source to irritation. Commandments - Violated is nothing out of the ordinary, but it's an alright debut and with some work and progression Flaying could become an interesting band to follow.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t