GOD AMONG INSECTS - World Wide Death
Released: September 6th, 2004 | Label: Threeman | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Playground

01. Legions of Darkness
02. A Gush of Blood
03. Headless Nun Whore
04. Wretched Hatching
05. Chainsawed Christians
06. Purified in Carnage
07. Uprising of the Rotten
08. Severe Facial Reconstruction
09. Uhr-Nazuur

God Among Insects is yet another so called "all star" old school death metal project. Featuring former Hypocrisy and current Dark Funeral frontman Emperor Magus Caligula, The Project Hate MCMXCIX mastermind Lord K. Philipson, Sanctification bassist Tomas Elofsson and last but not least Vomitory skinsman Tobben Gustafsson.

While World Wide Death may not offer anything new and unheard it does provide thirty-five minutes of nostalgia and uncompromising death metal frenzy. The thick and juicy bottom laid down by Tomas and Tobben provide a perfect platform for Lord K to carve his chainsaw-like riffs deep into listeners conscious. Caligula perfectly rounds it all up with his deep growls and grotesque screams. The music is varied and organic without ever becoming overwhelming. The production is thick yet clear so you have no trouble hearing all the little details that are scattered all over the place. As opposite to many other death metal albums that have been released in the later years World Wide Death is very bass driven but this without stealing any of the attention from the guitars.

Tracks like "Headless Nun Whore", "Purified in Carnage" and "Uprising the Rotten" are the ones that stand out the most but the remaining tracks are also worthwhile. World Wide Death is a top notch death metal album that easily can stand multiply listens without becoming boring or sound alike.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t