GRUESOME STUFF RELISH - Teenage Giallo Grind
Released: September, 2008 | Label: No Escape | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: No Escape

01. Coming Back To Life
02. Grand Guignol Cannibale
03. L'Aldila
04. Savage Men... Savage Beasts
05. Bizarre Sacrifice
06. Enchanted Bodies
07. Zombified Crowd
08. Cannibal Freakout
09. Skull Collectors of Borneo
10. The Gruesome Horror Begins
11. Jungle Rites
12. Kwaheri
13. Spaghetti Terror [is Pretty Cool]
14. Black Demons
15. Malignant Virus Infection
16. Deep River Savages
17. Somewhere at an Altar II
18. Jungles of the Matto Grosso
19. Voodoo Ritual
20. Zombie Wizard
21. Last Men Alive
22. One More Victim
23. Mondo Chelano [The Naked Truth]
24. In the Cold
25. Lost in the Green Hell
26. El Lamento De Los Zombies
27. Prisoner of the Cannibal God
28. Cinema Verite Style
29. Eaten Alive
30. It's the End of the World [as We Know It]
31. Faces of Death
32. Wild Party [Cannibal freakout II]
33. Nightmare City
34. The Cave of the Cannibal
35. The Three Mothers

No Escape Records just reissued the 2002 debut Teenage Giallo Grind from the Spanish goregrind trio Gruesome Stuff Relish. Besides Teenage Giallo Grind the CD features five bonus tracks from the now out of print three way CD Split Your Guts with Gorerotted and Gronibard. The music is dirty and stripped down death metal comparable to Machetazo. It's obvious that the band does not try to invent goregrind all over. The Spaniards rely on all the clichés of the genre and I love it.

Lyrically it's all about zombies, cannibals and tales of terror. Mix this with old school death metal, gurgling growls, lots of blastbeats and some b-movie samples and the result is a toxic dose of goregrind. The production is dirty, meaty and very similar to the early Sunlight Studio sound. Think Left Hand Path era Entombed and you get the idea. Teenage Giallo Grind should have no problem appeal to both fans of goregrind and old school death metal in general.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t