MELEKTAUS - Transcendence Through Ethereal Scourge
Released: April 10th, 2005 | Label: Grotesque | Rating: 7/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Grotesque

01. The Rebellion Against the False God
02. Transcendence through Ethereal Scourge
03. The Flame of Knowledge
04. Kakophonic Whispers
05. Adoration to the Most High Powers
06. The Primal Void of Nothingness
07. Ecstasy in Heru-ra-ha
08. Upon the Flames
09. Regression to the Primary State

Chilean death metal is definitely not something that finds its way to my letterbox everyday, but nevertheless this is what the debut album from Melektaus did. Style-wise the band plays brutal death metal with influences from Nile, Incantation and Morbid Angel, though the later appear to be the most obvious, but the band does not sound like a clone of any of the mentioned bands. The songs are varied, though they for the most are kept in an ultra fast pace, but they do regularly slow down so it doesn't occur as one long and monotone pummel. Furthermore there once in a while pop up a solo which of course adds even more to the diversity of the songs. The vocals are of course low and guttural which gives certain associations to Incantation.

The sound is dirty and dry, but still fairly good. A slightly juicier and clearer production would probably have pushed Transcendence Through Ethereal Scourge even further, but as I wrote before the production is fairly good as it is, so it doesn't matter a whole lot. Most of the tracks are pretty good, but here after a few listens I think the opener "The Rebellion Against the False God" and the title track "Transcendence Through Ethereal Scourge" are the ones that stand out the most, but as I just wrote the remaining material is worthwhile too. Transcendence Through Ethereal Scourge may not contribute with a whole lot new, if any, nevertheless it's still a good release that ought to please fans of any of the aforementioned bands.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t