MISERY INDEX - Retaliate
Released: 2003 | Label: Nuclear Blast | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: VME

01. Retaliate
02. The Lies That Bind
03. The Great Depression
04. Angst Ist Die Seele Auf
05. Demand the Impossible
06. Order Upheld/Dissent Dissolved
07. Servants of Progress
08. The Unbridgeable Chasm
09. Bottom Feeders
10. History is Rotten
11. Birth of Ignorance

Wow, this stuff is impressive. To tell the truth, I'm usually not to fond of these offsprings of death metal where they incorporate hardcore elements. But Misery Index manages to do this in a really cool way; it doesn't come across as being boring or annoying.

Usually stuff like this gets on my nerves really fast, mainly due to the shouting hardcore inspired vocals, and I find myself thinking why the hell can't they use a decent growl instead! But this is not the case on Retaliate. The vocals really fit well in with the music. The music is, as mentioned, earlier death metal with a certain amount of hardcore and groove. So if you're into bands like Dying Fetus, Pyrexia and Skinless, then Retaliate is a safe buy.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t