Released: 2003 | Label: Earache | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Cleansed In Pestilence [Blade of Elohim]
02. Enshrined By Grace
03. Beneath the Hollow
04. Curse the Flesh
05. Praise the Strength
06. Stricken Arise
07. Place of Many Deaths
08. Abyssous
09. God of Our Own Divinity
10. Within Thy Enemy
11. Memories of the Past
12. Victorious March of Rain the Conqueror
13. Drum Check
14. Born Again

The sick angels have launched yet another lethal assault upon the world. The once so innovative masters of death metal still seem to have a few surprises up their sleeves, even though they've become more and more predictable with each new album they unleash. But who cares; I certainly don't, 'cause Trey, Pete [and] Steve still know how to create some memorable and down right hellish arrangements which still is far superior to most of the other stuff out there in the lurking dark.

Music-wise, the CD floats around somewhere in between the two previous Morbid Angel albums Gateways to Annihilation and Formulas Fatal to the Flesh, with a few references to their older material making it a predictable affair. Nonetheless, it's still a crushing assault of twisted and furious riffs accompanied by a hellish inferno of insane drum galore, proving that Morbid Angel is far from burnt out. So, hopefully we haven't heard the last of them yet.

My only compliant, which is a very small one, is the track "Drum Check", which seems misplaced and probably would have been better off on the bonus CD, though I must admit it sounds awesome when Pete goes on a drum rampage. Still, it kinda ruins the overall atmosphere of the album, though other than that there's really nothing to point fingers to.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t