1. Intro
  2. Sacrificial Rite
  3. Gory Departure
  4. Preacher of Lies
  5. Senseless Killing
  6. Through the Eyes of Death
  7. Feast From Within
  8. Prolong the Agony
  9. ...Of Evil
  10. Eternal Suffering
  11. Metal Church
MORTA SKULD - Through the Eyes of Death

GENRE: Death metal
LABEL: Relapse Records
YEAR: July 5th, 2011

RATING: 6/10
PROVIDED BY: Relapse Records

Morta Skuld was an American four-piece. The band was formed in 1990 and put out four full-length albums before disbanding. The music on Through the Eyes of Death is made up by the two demos that the band put out in 1990, as well as a few leftovers including a rendition of the Metal Church song "Metal Church".

The demos has of course been re-mastered for the compilation, but compared to so much else demo material the production is in fact relatively good. I like the thick tone that the guitars have.

The style is simplistic death metal. The music has some groovy parts, as well as bits and pieces of thrash metal. The clues to thrash metal are mostly noticeable in the drumming, but also in some of the riffs. The music is mostly played at a moderate pace. There are a few faster parts, but it's no way near the standards of today. The music is typical US death metal and how it was done in 1990.

Through the Eyes of Death is an all right compilation, but I think you have to be a fan of the band to truly value it.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t