NOMINON - Remnants of a Diabolical History
Released: 2006 | Label: Pulverised | Rating: 6/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Pulverised

01. Blaspheming the Dead
02. Invocations
03. Live for Violence
04. Cemetery of Life
05. Servants of the Moonlight
06. Diabolical Bloodshed
07. Spit on Your Grave
08. Blessed by Fire
09. Genocide
10. Decomposed
11. Sodom's Fall

Remnants of a Diabolical History is a collection of unreleased tracks, promo songs and tracks from 7' releases put out between 1997 and 2005 by the Swedish deathers Nominon. I'm not too familiar with Nominon's music, but Remnants of a Diabolical History don't seem like the worst place to begin. The music is dirty and stripped down death metal. There are similarities with early Dismember and Entombed. It's obvious that the Swedes like it old school. The band also pays tribute by including their renditions of old Voivod, Whiplash and Repulsion tracks.

Having in mind that this is a compilation it's natural that there are variations in the sound and production, but it's impossible not to pay attention to these variations and I admit I find it a bit annoying. Some of the tracks have been re-recorded and this makes me wonder why the band haven't gone all the way and re-recorded the entire collection as these tracks have dirtier and fatter sound. It's nothing that spoils anything in a major way, but I'm certain that it could have taken the compilation a step or two higher. Overall Remnants of a Diabolical History is a nice compilation that should satisfy fans of the band and old school Swedish death metal in general.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t