PAUL SPECKMANN - Masterpieces
Released: August 15th, 2005 | Label: Twilight | Rating: 6/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Twilight

01. The Line to Kill
02. He'll Probably Win
03. Fatso
04. Blood For Oil
05. Pull the Plug
06. Funeral Bitch
07. Mangled Dehumanization
08. Kill With Me
09. Crooked Teeth
10. Follow You Savior
11. The Truth
12. Re-Entry and Destruction
13. Cut Through the Filth
14. Remorseless Poison
15. Heathen
16. Latitudinarian

If you know a little about metal and in particularly the extremer end of the scale then the name Paul Speckmann shouldn't be completely unknown to you. The man has been in numerous bands since he started out in Warcry in 1981. His most known and long running band is Master, but also Abomination and Deathstrike have a certain cult status in the underground. Masterpieces is a compilation of material picked by Paul himself. It spans from 1985 to 2004. I'm no expert when it comes to the bands that he has played in over the years, but I still think with my somewhat limited knowledge about his bands that this is a fairly good compilation, however, I'm a bit surprised that there's no material from the last four Master albums.

All the songs have been re-mastered, but still the sound lacks here and there, however, I guess this is what you can expect from such old material. I think you have to be a big fan of Paul Speckmann's music in order to truly appreciate Masterpieces and I'm not really, but on the other hand Masterpieces provides a pretty good look into the numerous bands that he has been involved in. As I indicated before I can't say I like it all, but there are some good songs like for instance "The Line to Kill", "He'll Probably Win", "Funeral Bitch" and "Cut Through the Filth". What I really miss about this compilation is that there's no liner notes in the booklet, only a collection of pictures. It would have been nice to have read the story behind the songs, but of course it doesn't make the music itself less good.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t