THE DAMNATION - Into the Pits of Hell
Released: 2006 | Label: Self financed | Rating: 4/6 | Reviewer: PSL | Distribution: The Damnation

01. Step Aside
02. Torn to Pieces
03. Dawn of the Dead
04. The Knife
05. Past
06. Into the Pits of Hell
07. Hatemachine
08. Pazuzu
09. Altered Soul
10. Evil Supremacy
11. Rise

I'm amazed how professional many demo bands have become nowadays. Sometimes it's hard to tell if you sit with a self financed effort or something put out by a label and Into the Pits of Hell from German deathers The Damnation is no exception.

The quartet plays deathrash, but with the majority of the focus on the death metal side of things. The band is inspired by bands like Protector, Slayer and Death. You notice a few references to the aforementioned now and then, but nothing that deprive The Damnation of their sound. The songs are diverse and well-written. The unit sure knows how to write some music that stay interesting for more than just two listens. A part of this is that the Germans have found a good balance between the fast and the more mid-tempo orientated in the songs.

Into the Pits of Hell was recorded at Soundlodge Studios by Jörg Uken. This proves to have been a wise decision as the music has gotten a crisp and powerful sound. It goes really well with the style that The Damnation has. Of course the effort may not burst of new-thinking, but don't let this hold you back there's plenty of interesting things going on to make it a durable release. I'm sure it's just a matter of time before the Germans get picked up by a label. This is simply too good to ignore.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t