SARGATANAS REIGN - Bloodwork - Techniques of Torture
Released: June 20th, 2005 | Label: Regain | Rating: 5/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Preface
02. Techniques of Torture
03. Chaos Theory
04. Sliver
05. Come Great Me Crawlers
06. Hellnation
07. Blood Katharsis
08. The Parnassus Journal
09. Blindfolded
10. Kevlar Throat

I had never heard of Sargatanas Reign before I found their new album Bloodwork - Techniques of Torture in my mailbox. The style is technical and very bass driven death metal. According to the info sheet, the music is similar to Behemoth, Morbid Angel and Deicide, but I totally fail to hear those similarities. The music reminds me more of an more technical version of Blood Red Throne. I wouldn't say I'm really impressed, but the music does occasionally have its moments, but it just gets a bit boring in the long run. There's no doubt that the songs are well put together and that Sargatanas Reign consist of great musicians, but somehow it just doesn't seem to be enough. It's like something is missing, but I fail to say what it is. I just know it's not there.

The production sounds very clinical and sterile. The drums often sound quite hollow, and although it does fit the music, it also gets a bit annoying. The bass is right up there in the mix and takes on a very present role in the soundscape. It actually sounds good, but at the same time there's something annoying about it. I think it's the clinical production that spoils the album for my concern. I found songs like "Hellnation" and "Blindfolded" to be quite good, but the remaining material appears to be somewhat anonymous. Bloodwork - Techniques of Torture is in no way a bad release, but somehow it just doesn't stay interesting for very long.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t