1. Herd of Damnation
  2. Into the Blind World
  3. The Enemy of My Enemy
  4. Anatomie of a Catastrophe
  5. The Sin of Sodomy
  6. Legacy of Ashes
  7. The Hornet's Nest
  8. Righteous Indignations
  9. The Living Sacrifice
SINISTER - Legacy of Ashes

GENRE: Death metal
COUNTRY: Holland
LABEL: Massacre Records
YEAR: December 17th, 2010

RATING: 8/10
PROVIDED BY: Massacre Records

The Dutch four-piece doesn't try to reinvent death metal on Legacy of Ashes, but it works as it should. If you like consistent and clear-cut death metal then you'll enjoy it. Okay, the songs are a little shorter, but apart from that the music doesn't differ much from The Silent Howling. But to me that isn't a bad thing.

The music is diverse and the song-writing above all interesting. There are fast and brutal parts in addition to somewhat slower inputs. Not to mention a bit of groove here and there. I also like that the Dutchmen add some melody as well.

Most of the songs are kind of standard, but overall there are many good riffs and parts to make the music exciting. The bass is often audible and that does add positively to the breadth of the music. In spite of all the clichs Legacy of Ashes has the needed strength to stay interesting. I think songs like "Into the Blind World", "The Hornet's Nest" and "Righteous Indignations" underline that well.

As I started out by saying Sinister doesn't try anything uncommon on Legacy of Ashes, but that doesn't make it a bad or boring effort. Also I think it profit the music that the songs are a little shorter. If you like straight forward and catchy death metal then you'll definitely like Legacy of Ashes.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t