SPLATTERHOUSE - The House That Dead Built
Released: July 13th, 2004| Label: Razorback | Rating: 6/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Razorback

01. Baptizing the Dead
02. Confessions of a Grave Robber
03. Mutilator
04. The Came From Within
05. Coffin Birth
06. Warmest Place to Hide
07. Night of the Creeps
08. Somewhere in the Yard
09. The Hillside Stranglers

The more I listen to the debut full-length The House That Dead Built from horror freaks Splatterhouse the more I like it but it's like something is missing however it's kinda hard to put words on what it exactly is. The band play death metal the old fashioned way. It brings to mind such bands as Incubus [the deaththrash band] and Death [around the Scream Bloody Gore and Leprosy era]. As soon as the thrashy opener "Baptizing the Dead" kicks in it becomes evident that here's a band that doesn't care about trends but instead swear to the ethics of the old and that suits me fine. Musicwise the songs are fairly varied, here's plenty of temposhifts ranging from the slower passages to the fast and grinding parts. But the songs are mainly kept in the midpaced end of the scale which prevents it from quickly becoming boring or monotone sounding. Still the songs occasionally has an tendency to sound a little too alike which pulls down in the overall impression.

The production is dirty and raw but not in a way so you can't hear what is going on. Sure The House That Dead Built doesn't offer anything unheard but still it's a solid release that lies somewhere along the average without ever being overwhelming or for that matter boring. Songs like "Baptizing the Dead", "They Came From Within", "Warmest Place to Hide" and "Night of the Creeps" is the ones that stand out the most but almost all of the remaining material is pretty worthwhile too. If you have a few extra bucks to spend then this isn't a bad purchase.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t