SUDDEN DEATH - Rethroned
Released: 2007 | Label: Self financed | Rating: 6/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Sudden Death

01. Intrance
02. Until Hell Froze
03. Insert Coin
04. Black Pieces
05. Broken Wings
06. To Bleed
07. Spiritual Fortress
08. Fear
09. Germ Under God

Can't say I've ever heard of these German deathers before but the band actually has a history that goes back to 1991. Sudden Death has put out two EP's and one full-length prior to this and it can be heard. The music is relatively standardized old-school death metal but nevertheless forceful and tightly played. The songs bear a few references to early Entombed and Bolt Thrower but often I also hear similarities with fellow German deathers Anasarca. The songs are wide-ranging but it frequently feels like something is absent.

Despite of the fact that the unit is good at varying both pace and riffs as well as adding some almost groove things from time to time, it shines through that the music miss a lead or two. This would really have put the icing on the cake. The CD was recorded at Soundlodge with Jörg Uken. The result is a fat and powerful sound that adds a little extra to the music. Sudden Death has done a good job on Rethroned and the music definitely has its highlight but it sounds a little too standard-like, thus average grading.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t