1. Intro [Devoured]
  2. Scorned Messiah
  3. The Marked One
  4. Obsolete Gods
  5. In Utter Contempt
  6. Trapped Beyond
  7. A New World Order
  8. Smashing the Face of Belief
  9. Hands of Vengeance
  10. Winds of Disease
SYN:DROM - With Flesh Unbound

GENRE: Death metal
LABEL: ViciSolum Productions
YEAR: April 30th, 2010

RATING: 8/10
PROVIDED BY: ViciSolum Productions

Syn:Drom is from Sundsvall, in the north of Sweden. The five-piece play death metal and the band obviously draw on inspiration from Nile, Hate Eternal and Vader among other. The Swedes do add their own twist to the music so it doesn't really sound too much like any of the aforementioned bands.

The song-writing is competent. The music is mostly relatively fast and brutal, but often with an obvious incidence of melodic bits and pieces. This is obvious on "Obsolete Gods", "Trapped Beyond" or "Winds of Disease" to name three, but overall the band is really good at combining these different facets. The Swedes do also frequently slow down and go for a more mid-tempo or slower type of style. Another I like is that the five-piece don't forget to add a solo or two. It does make a difference. Like I've already indicated the band is overall good at varying the music.

The production is meaty and compact, but it's not like things tend to vanish. It's nice that it's possible to notice the details, but without the music losing the energy.

With Flesh Unbound is a good effort that doesn't sound as typical Swedish death metal, but when that is said it's not like Syn:Drom venture into unfamiliar territory. This however doesn't change that With Flesh Unbound is a CD that should have no problem interesting fans of Vader, Hate Eternal and the likes.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t