THE ARSON PROJECT - Blood and Locusts
Released: 2008 | Label: Power It Up | Rating: 7/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Blacklist

01. God of War
02. Locust Swarm
03. Forsaken
04. The Black List
05. Mentalt Avrättad
06. Ghost City
07. My Regret
08. Unbreakable
09. Deathbed Labour
10. Holy Vindication

Oskarshamn’s The Arson Project plays grindcore inspired by bands like Nasum, Rotten Sound, Gadget and Converge. Much to the point the music is also a mix of the aforementioned bands and in particular the similarities with Nasum and Rotten Sound are clear. The Swedes blast most of the time and the music is brutal and straight in the face. It’s very convincingly done and despite their devil-may-care approach the songs never tends to become a clutter of noise.

The Arson Project is good at writing music with the right amount of versatility. The four-piece do now and then slow down a bit and go for some slower and more ambient elements like on “Mentalt Avrättad”. The production is crisp and beefy. It’s much in vein of the Nasum and Rotten Sound type of sound. Blood and Locusts is an interesting EP that has just the right amounts of brutality, catchiness and diversity needed for it to be enjoyable. People who like Nasum or Rotten Sound will love Blood and Locusts.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t