Released: May 25th, 2009 | Label: Psycho | Rating: 5/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Psycho

01. Black Hell
02. Alien Invasion
03. The Stoning
04. Sadist
05. Death Head
06. Evilution
07. Savage
08. Immortally Entombed
09. Black Widow
10. Burning Anger
11. Lunacy
12. The Crucifix

The German band The Damnation plays a mix of death and thrash metal. I have a dislike for this blend in general, but it helps that the Germans to some degree are inspired by Massacra, Morgoth and Protector.

These inputs do in a way help set the music apart from many other bands mixing the two styles. The songs are straight forward and mostly up-tempo. It's obvious that the four-piece can write music - the songs are varied and a lot of the time the riff work is above the average. This does come to show on the titletrack, "Black Hell" and "The Crucifix". It doesn't hurt either that the band add a solo or two now and then.

But all of this doesn't change that Evilution is a standard effort that never really seems to take off. Despite of good song-writing there's just not a whole lot that leaves an imprint. I like that the German seems to have looked a bit on Enjoy the Violence era Massacra as well as Protector around A Shedding of Skin, but it doesn't make much of a difference and Evilution just ends up as a forgettable experience.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t