Released: May 5th, 2008 | Label: No Escape | Rating: 7/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: No Escape

01. 1
02. 2
03. 3
04. 4
05. 5
06. 6
07. 7
08. 8
09. 9
10. 10

The Day Everything Became Nothing continues almost from where they left off on Invention: Destruction. If you are familiar the band's previous works then you know what to expect. The music is like the Australians other efforts; straightforward, groovy and pulsating goregrind, but contrary to Invention: Destruction the band tend to speed things up a little more on Brutal and it works for the better. Not many bands can get away with repeating the riffs as much as The Day Everything Became Nothing do. The band does partially get away with it, but at few places it tends to be a little too sluggish.

The vocals are like always super low gurgling growls mixed with some abrasive vocals. Like the music they too can be a little monotone now and then, but it doesn't really withdraw anything from the overall impression. Brutal is not a super varied effort, but it has enough substance to be interesting. The music is wrapped in a meaty, but somewhat dry production. It's easy to hear what's going on, but a juicier sound would probably have given the music even more bite. Brutal is not noteworthy different from what The Day Everything Became Nothing previously have done, but there's something about the pulsating and groovy vibe that these Australians create that is impossible not to like.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t