V/A - Chosing Death - The Original Soundtrack
Released: November 22nd, 2004 | Label: Relapse | Rating: 4/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Napalm Death - Scum
02. Siege - Walls
03. Repulsion - Maggots in Your Coffin
04. Morbid Angel - Chapel of Ghouls
05. Nihilist - Severe Burns
06. Obituary - Slowly We Rot
07. Deicide - Lunatics of God's Creation
08. Napalm Death - Suffer the Children [live]
09. Cannibal Corpse - Hammer Smashed Face
10. Carcass - Heartwork
11. At The Gates - Need
12. Death - Symbolic
13. Opeth - Demon of the Fall
14. Brutal Truth - Dead Smart
15. Hate Eternal - Powers That Be
16. Pig Destroyer - Untitled
17. Arch Enemy - We Will Rise
18. Zyklon - Psyklon Aeon
19. Nile - Sarcophagus
20. Suffocation - Souls to Deny [live]

This compilation is the aurally side of the book "Choosing Death: The Improbable History of Death Metal and Grindcore" and if the soundtrack is anything to judge from then I'm honestly not very impressed. No doubt that Choosing Death - The Original Soundtrack contains lots of classic material. However some of the tracks seem to have been chosen out from a commercial point of view instead of their relevance. If this CD is supposed to show the history of death metal then I'm surprised that that there wasn't any room for ground breaking bands such as Possessed, Bolt Thrower, Terrorizer, Cynic or Atheist but instead the folks behind this compilation have gone for popular bands like Opeth, Arch Enemy and Hate Eternal. This does in some way smell of commercial thinking. Also I find it a bit odd that Napalm Death is represented with two songs when there's no room for any of the bands I mentioned above.

One thing is certain and that is if you already are familiar with death metal or grindcore in general then there's really not reason for purchasing this compilation because the few exclusive tracks that are represented does in no way make this album worth the plastic it's printed on. But on the other hand if you're just beginning to explore the magnificent soundscapes of this type of music then it's definitely worth investing in but for us who already have most of the albums there's absolutely not justification in buying this.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t