VISCERAL BLEEDING - Absorbing the Disarray
Released: May 9th, 2007 | Label: Neurotic | Rating: 7/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Neurotic

01. Bi-Polar
02. Disgust the Vile
03. Despise Defined
04. Perpetual Torment Commence
05. Emulated Sense: Failure
06. Rip the Flesh
07. Absorbing the Disarray
08. Awakened by Blood
09. Beyond the Realms of Reason
10. Bring Forth the Bedlam
11. Demise of the One That Conquered

Absorbing the Disarray is a CD that has been some time under way supposedly due to problems at the pressing plant, but now it's finally here. Has it been worth the wait? My answer would be yes. The music is as previously US styled death metal with a technical twist. The Swedes have evolved a little and have gotten a more mature and modern sound than before. This comes to show in the fact that the music appears to draw a lot more on inspiration found in genres outside of death metal. For the most it works well and provides the music with a more diverse expression. Examples of this include "Disgust the Vile" and the titletrack "Absorbing the Disarray".

The music is as usual tightly played and quite varied. There are many nice details to explore. But for some reason it doesn't get quite as interesting as it did on the predecessor Transcend Into Ferocity. It's like some of the catchiness is missing this time. It doesn't spoil too much, but it does affect the music to some degree. The band has once again recorded in Studio Flatpig with Robert Ahrling. The result is a relatively dry and clear sound. It goes well with the bands more mature approach. Absorbing the Disarray is in no way a masterpiece, but it's a good CD that should have no problem satisfying fans of the band and technical death metal in general.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t