Released: June 14th, 2004 | Label: New Aeon Media| Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Target

01. Everything Get Back
02. Very Strange Dream
03. Creators of Rules
04. Wooden Wars
05. Deadly Injection
06. Loneliness
07. Downtrodden
08. The Crime
09. Reality...When You Die
10. Into the Heart

New Aeon Media have done it again. This sublabel to Karmageddon Media really knows how to locate all the new and upcoming bands and Polish death metallers Vox Interium is no exception either. Okay, Vox Interium may not be entirely new to the scene 'cause they were formed back in 1997 and in 2001 they released their debut Zymosis of Souls on a small Polish underground label but problems occurred with both label and manager. But now the band is finally ready to release their new album Yearning.

Perhaps Yearning is no revelation and it's quite possible some of the riffs have been borrowed from other bands but none the less Vox Interium proves like so many other Polish death metal bands before them that Polish death metal should not be taken lightly. It's also quite possible that Vox Interium doesn't add anything new what so ever but their music is well played, catchy and memorable, a thing that many bands out there could learn from. The songs drip of heavy as f**k riffs and very solid lead-work. Furthermore the band doesn't just blast ahead at full speed all the time. They really know how to vary their pace adding even more diversity to and already diverse album. The production is thick and rich yet clear so none of the small details seems to get lost. Vox Interium pretty much finish the whole thing up with a superb rendition of the old Gorefest classic "Reality… When You Die".

Yearning is a solid effort that leaves you back wanting more. It once again proves that Poland is still a hotbed when it comes to conceiving kick ass death metal. This CD ought to appeal to fans of bands like Vader, Bolt Thrower, Gorefest and older death metal in general.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t