WYNJARA - Human Plague
Released: October 11th, 2004 | Label: Nocturnal Art | Rating: 8/10 | Reviewer: PSL | Provided by: Nocturnal Art

01. Meltdown
02. Laughing as They Die
03. Feast of Fools
04. Rebirth
05. Shallow
06. Disgrace
07. I Am
08. Little Man
09. Transformations
10. Walking Dead
11. Hypocrite
12. Aftermath

After an four year absence Divine Empire guitarist J.P Soars and former Monstrosity guitar player Jason Morgan have decided to revive Wynjara and this has resulted in their new and sophomore release Human Plague completed with addiction of vocalist Brooks Rose.

Music wise we're talking US death metal in the vein of Death, Malevolent Creation and Monstrosity so basically there's noting unheard here. The material on Human Plague is pretty diverse and organic ranging from the aggressive yet very melodic in "Laughing as They Die", "Disgrace" over to the brutal in "Feast of Fools" and "Hypocrite" not to mention the impressive instrumental tracks "Walking Dead" and "Aftermath" and the slow and dirty "I Am". The programming of the drum-machine is done amazingly well so you never really notice that it isn't a human behind the kit. Jason Morgan has produced the album and this has resulted in a clear yet thick and juicy sound that suits the music well and lets the listener discover all the little details.

Human Plague is a finely crafted album that leaves very little to be desired and there's no doubt that it is among the better releases of 2004. So fans of mid-nineties US death metal shouldn't hesitate in checking this one out.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 0   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t